Texas Texting and Driving Ban

Should I buy AAA or Roadside Assistance?
March 7, 2017
Flood Insurance – Who needs it and why?
September 28, 2017
Show all

Texas Texting and Driving Ban

It has been almost a month since the new texting and driving laws went into effect in Texas, but do you know what that law is and means?

The short answer is, you cannot text while driving. If an officer sees you with your head down reading your phone, you can get pulled over and get a ticket of up to $99 for the first offense and up to $200 for repeat offenses. While this law does not prohibit talking while driving, it is up to the officer to determine if you are texting/reading your phone and distracted or simply making a phone call.

Just a couple of interesting tidbits:

  1. This law does not replace or repeal any city specific laws that are more strict than the Texas laws. Know where you are and what the laws are. IE: Little Elm has a hands free law. If your phone is in your hand for any reason at all, you can get a ticket.
  2. Use of a phone for any reason in a school zone is also prohibited.
  3. Most interesting, drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using their phones for any reason while driving.

How can you stay safe? Use any hands free device to keep your hands on the steering wheel. We would love to hear what hands free devices you use in your cars. Comment below and share so we can all be safe drivers together!!

Comments are closed.